Canning FAQ 2 or How do I get myself into these situations?

It’s time again for a FAQ.  So prepare yourself for the awesomeness that is a new FAQ and a little bit of my real life.

This weeks question is a fairly simple one but a very important one.  What equipment do I need?  This is a question that a lot of new canners have.

You CAN go out and spend a lot of money on fancy pots and jar lifters and other such stuff.  However all you really need is a pot deep enough to cover your jars with at least an inch of water, something to keep them off the bottom of the pot, and of course your jars, lids, and rings.

That’s it.  Really it’s that simple.  I personally have other things that make it easier.  A jar lifter, a canning pot (that I got at the local army navy store for $15),   and ways to organize my stuff.

You don’t need all that stuff to get started canning however.  You just need the three items listed above.  Oh and stuff to put in the jars.

I’ve also taken up a new hobby.  Not that I don’t already have a ton of other ones, canning, knitting, crochet, cross stitch, kumihimo just to name a few.  I have just started locker hooking.

For those of you not familiar with what that is, it’s quite simple really.  It’s making rugs.  Okay it’s a little more complicated than that but it’s still simple.  You pull strips of fabric, or yarn through a mesh and lock them in place with a locking material.  I’m using some really old really cheap yarn that I got a few years ago on e-bay.

However I made the mistake of sending a picture of my partially completed project to my roommate who is out of town right now and will be back in less than a week.  I also told him that I would have it done by the time he gets back so he can see the finished project.

However, I start a new job this Sunday and have to get myself back onto a sleeping at night awake in the day schedule in those 5 days.  I also have some canning projects that I want to do, I have to clean my carpets before my mom comes to get her carpet cleaner back tomorrow, and I’m getting my cracked windshield replaced in a few hours.  Ugh.  What did I sign myself up for?

Leave a Reply

